Album Review: Sludgehammer – The Fallen Sun


Band: Sludgehammer
Album: The Fallen Sun
Release: June 10th 2016
Label: Self-Released
Rating: 5/5

You might want to lay down some newspaper because your face is about to melt. Sludgehammer is a Five piece bucket of chicken from Toronto, Canada that have been capturing the attention of metal fans from different areas all over the world. Originally starting as a jam band in 2013 featuring guitarist Jeff Wilson and drummer Fernando Villalobos, the duo quickly turned towards a more serious direction, when the idea of recruiting more members was tossed between the two after writing several full length songs. Resulting from the idea, vocalist Chris Szarota and bassist Dan Ayers joined after giving impressive auditions. They went on to record a demo and a six track album Organ Harvester within the first year, which had fans wanting more. After playing several gigs, Guitarist Tyler Williams, who was working the sound booth, approached the band after a show and was offered to come jam with them. Colaborating with Jeff on guitar, Tyler created a much more “fuller sound” that they were searching for. After accepting an offer to join the band, they got to work on The Fallen Sun, making Sludgehammer what we hear today.

While listening to this album, it is safe to say that Sludgehammer has gained a new fan. This album contains 11 tracks that left me incredibally impressed. Recorded and mixed by guitarist Tyler Williams, the quality alone gets a thumbs up from me. Featuring superior guitar and bass work and freakishly amazing drum work, the vocals are the icing on the cake that leaves me desiring another piece. As a musician myself, I can understand the difficulty level in every instrument thats being played, which earns a second thumbs up from me as it is far from easy. The guitars are without a doubt my favorite part of this album as they seem to tell a story in themselves. Some tracks that stand out to me are “The Black Abyss”, “Revolting” and “Utopian”. They contain both superb instrumental work and nostalgic feeling vocals that leave me wanting to hear it over and over again. It is no question that these guys are exceptionally talented and all contribute something noteable to the album.

The Fallen Sun is streaming now for free on bandcamp but you can own it for the small price of $11. After listening and reading up on these guys, $11 seems like a steal and I will gladly help support. Visit their bandcamp now to listen and if you feel satisfied like I do, throw them a bone if you can. It will make the next album come that much quicker.

RIYL: Revocation, Mastodon, Lamb Of God, Cannibal Corpse, Pantera, Opeth, Decapitated


The Fallen Sun track listing:

1. Demons From The Woodwork (4:02)
2. Intestines Entwined (5:02)
3. The Black Abyss (6:29)
4. Ectogenesis (4:34)
5. Carrion Eater (5:56)
6. Consuming Afterbirth (4:34)
7. Carnivorous Forest (5:08)
8. Utopian (5:45)
9. Revolting (4:46)
10. Organ Harvester (4:51)
11. Casualties (4:34)

Album Length: 55:48

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s