Scale The Summit release audio for “Kestrel” off of forthcoming album V


SCALE THE SUMMIT’s forthcoming release “V”, due out on September 18 via Prosthetic Records, expertly showcases the instrumental progressive rock band’s definitive sound as it ebbs and flows across an array of beguiling soundscapes. Lauded as being “rich with melody and mind-boggling musicianship”(Outburn), the album was mixed by Jamie King (BTBAM, The Contortionist) who previously worked with the band on their smashing 2013 release “The Migration”.
With just over a month left until “V” hits store shelves worldwide, the band have decided to unveil a second track from the album, “Kestrel”, which can be streamed exclusively via Substream HERE or heard below via YouTube. Commenting on the track, the band stated “Kestrel is a really exciting part of the album for us, as it brings out the band’s softest moments and most intense moments all in the same song. Each instrument slowly builds on one another and keeps escalating toward some serious energy. It’s a dynamic shift unlike anything we’ve really done before. We’re super excited to play this one live!” 

You can immediately download “Kestrel”, in addition to the debut single “Stolas”, when you pre-order “V” digitally via iTunes, Bandcamp or Amazon. Physical pre-orders are also available at which offers “V” on CD and LP (including 180-gram black variant, limited clear variant (300), and limited white variant (300)). All physical orders placed on the webstore by September 14 will also receive a free sticker featuring the narrative album artwork completed by Duncan Storr.

SCALE THE SUMMIT signed to Prosthetic Records in 2009 with their acclaimed sophomore effort “Carving Desert Canyons” and caught the attention of Dream Theater drummer Mike Portnoy, who took them on the road to play on the band’s Progressive Nation tour. Hailed as “essential prog” by Guitar World, the band continued to release two further albums (2011’s “The Collective” and 2013’s “The Migration”) along with keeping busy on an extensive tour schedule where they were seen with acts including Between the Buried and Me, Protest the Hero, Periphery, YES, Intronaut, The Ocean, Glass Cloud and more in addition to several festival appearances (Yestival, SXSW, Houston Free Press Fest, Cruise to the Edge, etc). The current line up consists of guitarists Chris Letchford and Travis Levrier, bassist Mark Michell and drummer J.C. Bryant. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s